Field Roast came out with a new line of vegan “Chao” cheeses this month that, in my personal opinion, is the best thing since sliced bread (pun absolutely intended). I’ve missed grilled cheese sandwiches and quesadillas more than anything, and other vegan cheeses I’ve tried never really did the trick. Yes, these are made with soy, meaning that I can only have them once in awhile, but I’ll take that over no cheese ever again.

These cheese slices melt perfectly, and are also amazing when eaten cold with some crackers and wine. I was so excited about this new cheese that I had to try all of the flavors with different sauces, soups, and fillings which is why this post is titled “Epic Grilled Cheese Dinner”. I think I ate my weight in grilled cheese tonight and I am so happy right now. My favorite combinations are below! Please share any of your own combos in the comments below 🙂

Directions for making grilled cheese: Choose your cheese and other fillings and assemble the sandwich on gluten free bread. Melt some earth butter or coconut oil onto a griddle on medium heat. Place your sandwich on the griddle for about 3 minutes on each side, until the bread looks golden brown and the cheese is melted.

IMG_0241

Cheese 1: Creamy Original

This one is closest to American cheese. My fillings were sliced avocado and fake bacon, and my favorite dipping sauce for this was balsamic vinaigrette. This sandwich is awesome when dipped in tomato soup, butternut squash soup, ketchup, or grape jelly (try it!).

Cheese 2: Tomato Cayenne

This cheese has a bit of a kick but adding avocado in the sandwich is a great way to cut the spice. Also pairs well with sliced tomato or tomato soup.

Cheese 3: Coconut Herb

This cheese is good when paired with something sweet. It goes really well with butternut squash soup and apple butter.

 

Leave a Reply

