irish-pudding.jpg

  

Irish Coffee Pudding is one of my favorite recipes I’ve ever come up with. Of course, I finally had time to make it this week right after I made the decision to give up caffeine and alcohol for awhile, so I had to really control myself when taste testing. I definitely ate more of it than I was supposed to though. Whoops.

This chocolate espresso (a.k.a. mocha) pudding is topped with a bailey’s-flavored coconut whipped cream, and it is fantastic. I used my own Vegan Irish Cream recipe, but I only used about 1/3 of what my recipe calls for since I only needed it to flavor the whipped cream (so you just gotta drink the rest, I guess).

This pudding is absolutely delicious and so easy to make. If you’re not into the Bailey’s whipped cream, you can skip it altogether and just make the mocha pudding. But of course, the Bailey’s just makes it even better! This dessert is perfect for your St. Patrick’s Day celebrations, or any other day of the year. 

  


  

Irish Coffee Pudding

  

Ingredients for Vegan Bailey’s Whipped Cream

  • 2 5-oz can coconut cream, room temperature

  • 2 5-oz cans coconut cream, chilled in fridge overnight

  • 1/2 tbsp maple syrup

  • 1.5 tbsp coffee

  • 2.5 tbsp whiskey

  • pinch of salt

  • electric hand mixer

Ingredients for Mocha Pudding

  • 1 13.5oz can coconut milk, room temperature

  • 3 tbsp cocoa powder

  • 2 tsp instant espresso powder

  • 3 tbsp potato starch or cornstarch

  • 2 tbsp maple syrup

  • pinch of salt

  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions

  1. First, chill 2 of the 5-oz coconut cream cans in the fridge overnight, so that the cream is solid enough to turn into whipped cream.

  2. Make the Bailey’s by pouring the room temp coconut cream, maple syrup, coffee, whiskey, and pinch of salt into a high speed blender and process for 30 seconds until smooth. Pour into a glass and refrigerate until you are ready to make the whipped cream.

  3. Make the pudding by combining the room temp coconut milk, cocoa powder, espresso powder, potato starch, maple syrup, and salt in a saucepan and whisk together until all incorporated.

  4. Put the saucepan on low-medium heat and stir for several minutes, until the pudding bubbles and thickens.

  5. Remove it from the heat, add the vanilla extract, and stir to combine.

  6. To make the Bailey’s whipped cream, open both cans of refrigerated coconut cream and scoop out the solid cream into a large bowl, but discard any liquid. Add 1/2 cup + 2 tbsp Vegan Bailey’s, or more to taste, to the to the coconut cream and beat with an electric hand mixer until it is completely incorporated and the cream is smooth, and forms peaks when you pull the mixer up.

  7. Serve the pudding warm with whipped cream on top.

 

Leave a comment